Compare · Checked October 13, 2026
IKEA vs Wayfair return policy
Return windows, free shipping, price match, mail return fees and holiday rules at IKEA and Wayfair, side by side, from each store’s own policy.
The short answer
- IKEA gives you longer to return most items: 365 days versus 30.
We may earn a commission if you buy through this link. It never changes what we report. How we make money.
IKEA vs Wayfair side by side
| IKEA | Wayfair | |
|---|---|---|
| Return window | 365 days | 30 days |
| Free shipping | Not listed | Free at $35 |
| Price match | Not stated | Not stated |
| Mail return fee | No fee listed | No fee listed |
| Holiday returns | None listed yet | None listed yet |
| No receipt | For in-store exchanges bring the item, a photo ID, the receipt or online order confirmation, and the card you paid with. | Not spelled out on its policy page |
| Good to know | Opened products: 180 days with proof of purchase, for a full refund | Mattresses: Wayfair advertises a 100-night free trial on all mattresses |
| Shop | Shop at IKEA | Shop at Wayfair |
IKEA exceptions
- Opened products: 180 days with proof of purchase, for a full refund
- Mattresses: can be exchanged once for another mattress within 90 days (exchange, not refund)
- Not returnable: plants, cut fabric, custom countertops and as-is products
- Modified, dirty, stained or damaged items cannot be refunded or exchanged
Full details, sources and the date we checked: IKEA return policy.
Wayfair exceptions
- Mattresses: Wayfair advertises a 100-night free trial on all mattresses
Full details, sources and the date we checked: Wayfair return policy.
Frequently asked questions
Which has the better return policy, IKEA or Wayfair?
IKEA gives you longer to return most items: 365 days versus 30. The right choice depends on what you are buying; check the exceptions for your item.
Can I return a IKEA item to Wayfair?
No. Each store only takes back what it sold. Return the item to the store you bought it from.
Both stores’ rules come from their own policy pages, checked October 13, 2026. Sources are on each store page.