Compare · Checked October 13, 2026
T-Mobile vs Verizon return policy
Return windows, free shipping, price match, mail return fees and holiday rules at T-Mobile and Verizon, side by side, from each store’s own policy.
The short answer
- Verizon gives you longer to return most items: 30 days versus 14.
Shop at T-Mobile Shop at Verizon
We may earn a commission if you buy through this link. It never changes what we report. How we make money.
T-Mobile vs Verizon side by side
| T-Mobile | Verizon | |
|---|---|---|
| Return window | 14 days | 30 days |
| Free shipping | Not listed | Not listed |
| Price match | Not stated | Not stated |
| Mail return fee | No fee listed | No fee listed |
| Holiday returns | None listed yet | None listed yet |
| No receipt | Not spelled out on its policy page | Devices and accessories can be returned within 30 days of purchase, like new, in the original box with the receipt. |
| Good to know | Online and phone orders: 20 days from shipping | Return within the 30 days to avoid an early termination fee. |
| Shop | Shop at T-Mobile | Shop at Verizon |
T-Mobile exceptions
- Online and phone orders: 20 days from shipping
- Restocking fee: $75 (devices $600 or more), $50 ($300 to $599), $25 (under $300)
- Prepaid services, e-coupons and gift cards: non-refundable
- Hawaii and Puerto Rico have their own policies; Costco purchases get 90 days
Full details, sources and the date we checked: T-Mobile return policy.
Verizon exceptions
- Wireless devices: $50 restocking fee (not in Hawaii)
- One exchange only
- Gift cards: not returnable; opened software: exchange for the same item only
Full details, sources and the date we checked: Verizon return policy.
Frequently asked questions
Which has the better return policy, T-Mobile or Verizon?
Verizon gives you longer to return most items: 30 days versus 14. The right choice depends on what you are buying; check the exceptions for your item.
Can I return a T-Mobile item to Verizon?
No. Each store only takes back what it sold. Return the item to the store you bought it from.
Both stores’ rules come from their own policy pages, checked October 13, 2026. Sources are on each store page.