Compare · Checked October 13, 2026
Whole Foods Market vs Kroger return policy
Return windows, free shipping, price match, mail return fees and holiday rules at Whole Foods Market and Kroger, side by side, from each store’s own policy.
The short answer
- Both give 30 days for most items, so the exceptions below decide it.
Shop at Whole Foods Market Shop at Kroger
We may earn a commission if you buy through this link. It never changes what we report. How we make money.
Whole Foods Market vs Kroger side by side
| Whole Foods Market | Kroger | |
|---|---|---|
| Return window | 30 days | 30 days |
| Free shipping | Not listed | Not listed |
| Price match | Not stated | Not stated |
| Mail return fee | No fee listed | No fee listed |
| Holiday returns | None listed yet | None listed yet |
| No receipt | Refunds go to the original form of payment; gift receipt returns get a Merchandise Return Card. | Not spelled out on its policy page |
| Good to know | Refunds go to the original form of payment; gift receipt returns get a Merchandise Return Card. | Pickup and delivery orders can be refunded in the app, no trip needed. |
| Shop | Shop at Whole Foods Market | Shop at Kroger |
Whole Foods Market exceptions
- Alcohol: subject to state and local rules
- Only items bought at Whole Foods Market or wholefoodsmarket.com
Full details, sources and the date we checked: Whole Foods Market return policy.
Kroger exceptions
- Gift cards, taxes and fees: not refundable
- Tobacco, beer, wine and alcohol: governed by local law
- EBT purchases: no online refunds (call 1-800-KROGERS)
Full details, sources and the date we checked: Kroger return policy.
Frequently asked questions
Which has the better return policy, Whole Foods Market or Kroger?
Both give 30 days for most items, so the exceptions below decide it. The right choice depends on what you are buying; check the exceptions for your item.
Can I return a Whole Foods Market item to Kroger?
No. Each store only takes back what it sold. Return the item to the store you bought it from.
Both stores’ rules come from their own policy pages, checked October 13, 2026. Sources are on each store page.