Skip to content
Holiday 2026: return deadlines with calendar reminders and the Black Friday free shipping tracker
FreeShippingZone

Free shipping · Checked October 13, 2026

Gap free shipping: minimum and rules

Free at $50. The rules for what counts toward the minimum, member perks and a calculator for how much more you need, checked against Gap’s own shipping policy.

Free shipping$50Free at $50
Return window30dReturn policy
Price matchNot statedNot stated in its policy
Shop at Gap

We may earn a commission if you buy through this link. It never changes what we report. How we make money.

Gap free shipping rules

Free shipping on rewards members’ orders of $50 or more (signed in). Members pay $7 under $50; nonmembers pay a flat $9 on all orders.

  • Rewards members get free 3-5 day shipping on $50+ orders; Icon members get free 2-3 day shipping on $50+ orders.
  • One combined bag across Gap, Banana Republic, Old Navy and Athleta.

How much more for free shipping at Gap?

Counts the merchandise subtotal the way most stores do: after discounts, before tax and shipping. Gift cards and some items do not count toward the minimum; see the rules below.

Free shipping for members

Gap rewards (Encore): $50 free-shipping threshold, free mail returns and longer return windows for Premier (45 days) and cardmembers (60 days).

How Gap compares

18 of the 39 stores we track that publish a minimum ask for less than Gap does. See them all on free shipping minimums by store.

StoreFree shipping
AppleFree, no minimum
NordstromFree, no minimum listed
QuinceFree, no minimum
RevolveFree shipping and free returns
SephoraFree for Beauty Insider members; $50 for guests
ZapposFree, no minimum
Lowe'sFree at $25
SHEINFree at $29
AutoZoneFree at $35
Best BuyFree at $35
LEGOFree at $35
O'Reilly Auto PartsFree at $35
TargetFree at $35
WalmartFree at $35
WayfairFree at $35
The Vitamin ShoppeFree at $45
Kohl'sFree at $49
Macy'sFree at $49
Bath & Body WorksFree at $50
CrutchfieldFree at $50
DermstoreFree at $50
GapFree at $50
NikeFree at $50
Old NavyFree at $50
mauricesFree at $50
FableticsFree at $59.95
Barnes & NobleFree at $60
AerieFree at $75
American EagleFree at $75
Rack Room ShoesFree at $75 (free for Rewards members)
Nordstrom RackFree at $89
BeallsFree at $99
Duluth TradingFree at $99
Eddie BauerFree at $99
LOFTFree at $99
Lands' EndFree at $99
UNIQLOFree at $99
VansFree at $99 ($50 for Vans Family)
REIFree at $100

Ways to save on shipping at Gap

  • Check the cart for store pickup or ship-to-store options: where a store offers them, they usually avoid the delivery fee.
  • If you are only a few dollars short, compare the gap with the shipping fee shown at checkout. Adding something you would buy anyway is only worth it if it costs less than the fee.
  • Look at the member program above: some members get free shipping at a lower minimum or none.
  • Know the return rules first: on many sites, returning part of an order can reduce the refund if it drops you below the free shipping minimum.

Returns at Gap

Standard window: 30 days. Exceptions, no-receipt rules and mail returns are on our Gap return policy page.

Frequently asked questions

What is the minimum for free shipping at Gap?

Free shipping on rewards members’ orders of $50 or more (signed in). Members pay $7 under $50; nonmembers pay a flat $9 on all orders.

Do Gap members get free shipping?

Gap rewards (Encore): $50 free-shipping threshold, free mail returns and longer return windows for Premier (45 days) and cardmembers (60 days).

What is Gap’s return window?

30 days for most items. See the full return policy for exceptions.

Sources

Taken from Gap’s own pages and checked on October 13, 2026. Policies change, sometimes without notice, so confirm on the store’s site before you rely on a rule. Spotted a change? Tell us.

Holiday alerts

Know the day stores post holiday return dates

One short email when Amazon, Target, Best Buy and others post 2026 holiday return windows or change free shipping. Nothing else.

Free. Unsubscribe any time. We never share your email. Privacy.