Gift returns 2026 · Checked October 13, 2026
How to return a gift: store by store, with or without a receipt
What a gift receipt gets you, what happens with no receipt and the holiday deadline at 36 stores people buy most gifts at.
Quick answer: bring the gift receipt if you have one. At most big stores it gets you store credit or a gift card for the price the giver paid, without the giver finding out. With no receipt at all, many stores can still help, but you usually get credit at the lowest recent price, and some ask for ID.
Your deadline
Most stores start the clock on the day the gift was bought, not the day you opened it. 8 of the 36 stores below give holiday purchases extra time. Put your store and the purchase date into the return deadline calculator to get your last day and a calendar reminder.
Gift returns at 36 popular stores
Gift receipt rules come from each store's own help pages; 11 of these stores spell them out. No-receipt rules and holiday dates are from the store pages we check for every policy page on this site, last checked October 13, 2026.
| Store | Holiday deadline | With a gift receipt | Without a receipt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Walmart | Bought Oct 1 to Dec 31: return by Jan 31, 2027 | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Walmart suggests keeping the receipt and manufacturer packaging for at least 90 days. |
| Amazon | 30 days from purchase | Start the return with the order number from the packing slip or the digital gift receipt. | Not stated |
| Target | 90 days from purchase | A gift receipt or packing slip gets you a Target GiftCard. Gift receipt returns cannot be done the same day the gift was bought, and without either you may get a merchandise return card. | Without a receipt, Target can look up the purchase with the card you paid with; otherwise you may get a merchandise return card, which needs a government ID. No-receipt returns may be limited. |
| Costco | No fixed deadline (most items) from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Not stated |
| Best Buy | 15 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Without a receipt, Best Buy may ask for an email address, give store credit, or limit or deny the return. |
| The Home Depot | 90 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Not stated |
| Lowe's | 90 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Lowe's does not accept returns or exchanges without proof of purchase. A receipt, order number, the card or digital wallet you paid with, your phone number or your MyLowe's Rewards account all count. |
| Macy's | Bought From Oct 5: return by Jan 31, 2027 | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Without a receipt, Macy’s can look up the purchase with the card you paid with, the return label, packing slip, order email or registry number. |
| Kohl's | Bought Oct 4 to Dec 30: return by Jan 31, 2027 | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Most items can be returned with or without a receipt: Kohl’s can look up the purchase by order number, Kohl’s Rewards account, card or the app return barcode. |
| Nordstrom | No fixed deadline from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Without a receipt or order number, Nordstrom may still find the purchase; with no record of sale, you may get a Nordstrom gift card at the current price after showing ID. |
| Sephora | 30 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | In-store returns without a receipt are processed if Sephora can find the purchase; if it cannot be verified, there is no refund, exchange or credit. |
| Ulta Beauty | 30 days from purchase | Within 60 days of purchase, a gift receipt gets you an exchange for something of equal or lesser value, or merchandise credit. | Gift receipt returns within 60 days: exchange or merchandise credit. |
| Old Navy | Bought Oct 15 to Dec 24: return by Jan 15, 2027 | With a gift receipt you get a gift card for the price paid. Without one you get a merchandise certificate for the current selling price. | Proof of purchase is needed for a refund (shipping confirmation email, receipt or the original card). Gifts without a gift receipt get a merchandise certificate at the current price. |
| Gap | Bought Oct 15 to Dec 24: return by Jan 15, 2027 | With a gift receipt you get a gift card for the price paid. Without one you get a merchandise certificate for the current selling price. | Proof of purchase is needed for a refund (shipping confirmation email, receipt or the original card). Gifts without a gift receipt get a merchandise certificate at the current price. |
| T.J.Maxx | Bought Oct 4 to Dec 24: return by Feb 4, 2027 | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | With a receipt (packing slip or shipping email) within 40 days you get your money back; after 40 days, with a gift receipt or without a receipt, you get merchandise credit. |
| Marshalls | Bought Oct 4 to Dec 24: return by Feb 4, 2027 | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | With a receipt (packing slip or shipping email) within 40 days you get your money back; after 40 days, with a gift receipt or without a receipt, you get merchandise credit. |
| Apple | 14 days from purchase | Returns with a gift receipt are refunded as an Apple Gift Card. | Return or exchange within 14 days of the date you receive the product from Apple, with a receipt, in original condition with all parts and packaging. |
| Barnes & Noble | 30 days from purchase | Within 60 days of purchase, a gift receipt gets you store credit on an electronic gift card for the price paid. | In-store returns need the store receipt; returns and exchanges are not allowed without one. Gift receipts get store credit within 60 days. |
| DICK'S Sporting Goods | 90 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | With proof of purchase (order number, confirmation email, receipt, packing slip or return barcode) the refund goes back to your original payment for most purchases. |
| Bath & Body Works | 90 days from purchase | A gift receipt gets you merchandise credit for the price on the receipt, not including shipping. | With the original receipt, refunds go to the original payment within 90 days of purchase; after that you get merchandise credit. The shipping confirmation email counts as a receipt. |
| American Eagle | 30 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | A refund needs proof of purchase (receipt, invoice, order history or order email); without it you can only exchange for a different size. |
| lululemon | 30 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Not stated |
| Nike | 60 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Members can return or exchange without a receipt in store or in the Nike App. |
| JCPenney | Bought From Oct 1: return by Jan 31, 2027 | Holiday purchases made from October 1 can be returned through January 31, 2027 with the original or a gift receipt. | Store and jcp.com purchases can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of purchase with a receipt. For online orders, the packing slip, confirmation email or Shopping History counts. |
| Dillard's | 30 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Every return needs a POP number for each item, found on the receipt or the yellow sticker on the item. Customer Service: 1-800-345-5273. |
| Michaels | 60 days from purchase | Returns with a gift receipt are refunded on a Store Return Card. | Without a receipt, Michaels tries to look up the purchase by your Michaels Rewards number or card. If it cannot, you need a photo ID and get a store return card at the lowest price of the last 90 days. |
| Academy Sports + Outdoors | 60 days from purchase | With a gift receipt you get merchandise credit for the price paid, or an even exchange. | A full refund to the original payment needs the receipt or packing slip. |
| REI | 1 year for members from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Not stated |
| Zara | 30 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Store returns are free with your Zara QR code or receipt; someone else can return items for you. |
| UNIQLO | 30 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Store purchases: 30 days at any UNIQLO store, new and unwashed with tags, with the original receipt. Gift receipt returns get a merchandise gift card. |
| Etsy | Set by each seller from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Not stated |
| eBay | Set by each seller from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Not stated |
| IKEA | 365 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | For in-store exchanges bring the item, a photo ID, the receipt or online order confirmation, and the card you paid with. |
| Wayfair | 30 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | Not stated |
| LEGO | 90 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | LEGO.com orders can be returned free within 90 days of receipt, in original condition. |
| GameStop | 15 days from purchase | Not spelled out on the pages we checked; ask for store credit or an exchange. | New, unopened products can be returned within 15 days with a receipt or order number, in clean, resalable condition. A government ID may be required. |
How to return a gift without the giver knowing
- Use the gift receipt or the gift packing slip. Both hide the price and send the refund to you as store credit, not back to the giver's card.
- Online gifts can often be returned by mail with the order number from the packing slip; the store sends a label to you.
- No receipt? Try the store with the card or phone number the giver may have used only if you are comfortable asking them. Otherwise expect credit at the lowest recent price.
- Clothing and shoes are the easiest to swap for a different size. Opened electronics, games and beauty products have the most limits.
Before you go
- Keep the tags on and the item in its box. Most "unused, in original packaging" rules are strict for electronics.
- Marketplace items from third-party sellers follow the seller's policy, not the store's.
- Gift cards themselves usually cannot be returned or cashed out, except where state law requires it for small balances.
- Returning many items without receipts can trigger a store's return limit.
More: holiday return deadlines · no-receipt returns compared · return windows compared.
Frequently asked questions
Can you return a gift without a receipt?
Often, yes. Many stores can look up a purchase or give store credit at the lowest recent price, and some ask for a government ID. The rule for each store is in the table above.
What do you get when you return a gift with a gift receipt?
Usually store credit or a gift card for the price the giver paid, or an exchange. The refund does not go back to the giver's card, so they are not told.
When is the last day to return Christmas gifts in 2026?
It depends on the store. Stores with a holiday window mostly end it in late January or early February 2027. Check your store in the table or use the return deadline calculator.